C++ in my work place

I really should be working as a programmer, (I'm getting there!) but at the moment I'm working for a company that doesn't really use programming at all!! I work as an IT administrator, just doing whatever I'm asked to do and it's not great, but it's an improvement from my last job.

Ok, the only time I used my programming skills was a few months ago where I worked for about a week on some Visual Basic macros in the companies Word and Excel templates. In general, the directors really seem to ignore what I can REALLY do and just stick me in a corner and expect me to do all the minor tasks.

If anyone else is experiencing this or has experienced this, let me know how you feel about it. I myself have no University Degree, or any programming qualifications at all. So the only thing anyone can do is take my word for it, if they chose to. Things should start getting better in about a month though as I'm starting a C# and C.NET course.

My question (that I almost forgot about!) is what sort of things do you think I could do here using C++ programming? It's probably a silly question really, but what do you think about the other stuff? Who has made it into programming without a Degree?

Comments

• >>I myself have no University Degree, or any programming qualifications at all.
    >>what sort of things do you think I could do here using C++ programming

As you have found out, without the education the doors are generaly slammed shut in your face. What make you think a company is going to offer you a job if you have NO qualications? Go to school and get a bachelors degree. If you don't you will be stuck in your current job (or jobs similar to it) for the rest of your life.
  • :
    : >>I myself have no University Degree, or any programming qualifications at all.
    : >>what sort of things do you think I could do here using C++ programming
    :
    :