What was Starcraft programmed in?

I'm sorry if this question isn't relevant to this messageboard but I am a programmer-wannabe and I am searching for something powerful but simple enough to program in.

I have used DJGPP and Allegro with reasonable success but Windows is the present and most likely the future and the DJGPP/Allegro combo isn't native to it.

I was impressed with Starcraft and it's ability to play well even on my Pentium 166. The graphics were pretty fast despite the high-color.

I am curious as to what Blizzard used to make it and if it is a 'usable' language (similar to Allegro, perhaps).

I have tried my DirectX (went as far as purchasing a book for it and two for Visual C++) but no luck. It is a little too complex for me.

Thank you for your help.

- LKJ

Comments

• You could allways ask them here:

http://www.blizzard.com/inblizz/contact.shtml

Don't blame me if they won't answer you, but if they do, you are allowed to email me and tell me what they said ;)

If I have to guess I would say they used C/C++ or Java, since that is what they want their programmers to know. (Don't bet your life on any of this information though)

Thomas

: I'm sorry if this question isn't relevant to this messageboard but I am a programmer-wannabe and I am searching for something powerful but simple enough to program in.

: I have used DJGPP and Allegro with reasonable success but Windows is the present and most likely the future and the DJGPP/Allegro combo isn't native to it.

: I was impressed with Starcraft and it's ability to play well even on my Pentium 166. The graphics were pretty fast despite the high-color.

: I am curious as to what Blizzard used to make it and if it is a 'usable' language (similar to Allegro, perhaps).

: I have tried my DirectX (went as far as purchasing a book for it and two for Visual C++) but no luck. It is a little too complex for me.

:

: Thank you for your help.

:

: - LKJ

:

: