Totally new to programming

I'm totally new to programming and I'm going to try to learn Python. I have been to several sites, mainly Python.org, and downloaded Python 2.3 which is really cool. I'm sure I'll have a million questions as I go along, most of which I can figure out myself or Googlesearch, but I haven't figured this one out yet.

I have been doing a tutorial on Python.org that shows the very basics, and gives a program to try. The problem I'm having is that after I type a line (Ex:print "whatever"), it immediately does the command. My question is this: How do I write the program and then run it when I'm done, instead of having it execute all of the commands as I go along? Or, if executing the commands during programming is normal, then how do I run the entire program when I'm finished?
Is there another program I need to download?

OK, that's 3 questions, sorry.;)

Any suggestions would me greatly appreciated.

Comments

• : I'm totally new to programming and I'm going to try to learn Python. I have been to several sites, mainly Python.org, and downloaded Python 2.3 which is really cool. I'm sure I'll have a million questions as I go along, most of which I can figure out myself or Googlesearch, but I haven't figured this one out yet.
    :
    : I have been doing a tutorial on Python.org that shows the very basics, and gives a program to try. The problem I'm having is that after I type a line (Ex:print "whatever"), it immediately does the command. My question is this: How do I write the program and then run it when I'm done, instead of having it execute all of the commands as I go along? Or, if executing the commands during programming is normal, then how do I run the entire program when I'm finished?
    : Is there another program I need to download?
    :
    : OK, that's 3 questions, sorry.;)