can someone help me with making function for my program

Hi guys,
As you guys can probably guess, i'm new to c++ and for the most part, to programming as well. This is my first real program in terms of usefullness.
The goal of this program is for the user to input an 8 character password and have it encrypted. I am trying to make a function change the characters of the string into the ansi equivalent in numbers (a=65 for example), then change the value of the number by 5 or 6, then return them as the alpha numeric equivalent in ansi. thus 'abc' would turn into 'fgh'.
My problem lies in making a function do this. The problem is that it's not recognizing the function as a function. It keeps saying that ansi forbids making a character a number when i type cast it. if you want to see what my function is then here it is:

(very sloppy and newbie looking... probably isn't even a function!)

#include

int main ()

encryp(char encrypted[9]) //start function
{
int a=(int)pswd[0]; //making elements of the password into numbers
int b=(int)pswd[1];
int c=(int)pswd[2];
int d=(int)pswd[3];
int e=(int)pswd[4];
int f=(int)pswd[5];
int g=(int)pswd[6];
int h=(int)pswd[7];
int pwd[9]
a++; //changing char of the password by one
b++;
c++;
d++;
e++;
f++;
g++;
h++;
pwd[0]=a; //putting this back into an alpha form
pwd[1]=b;
pwd[2]=c;
pwd[3]=d;
pwd[4]=e;
pwd[5]=f;
pwd[6]=g;
pwd[7]=h;
} //end function
// start program
{
char pswd[9];
char encrypswd[9]=pwd[9];
char decrypswd[9]=pswd[9];
cout << "Please enter a password of 8 characters... :";
cin >> pswd;
encryp (pswd[9]);
cout

Comments

• : Hi guys,
    : As you guys can probably guess, i'm new to c++ and for the most part, to programming as well. This is my first real program in terms of usefullness.