Is this possible VBScript to VB? ?

Is this possible? I have a VBScript that searches a log file for the word "Successful" or "Failed". If either one of the words exist in the file it then generates a log file named, success.log or fail.log. The VBScript is called from a batch file and has no user interaction at all. Can this be done using Visual Basic? And if so can anyone point me in the right direction to do this? I've done some VB programming but not like this. Could I just use the same VBScript code and just compile it to a VB exe?

Any help is apperciated.

thanks

Comments

• : Is this possible? I have a VBScript that searches a log file for the word "Successful" or "Failed". If either one of the words exist in the file it then generates a log file named, success.log or fail.log. The VBScript is called from a batch file and has no user interaction at all. Can this be done using Visual Basic? And if so can anyone point me in the right direction to do this? I've done some VB programming but not like this. Could I just use the same VBScript code and just compile it to a VB exe?
    :
    : Any help is apperciated.
    :
    : thanks
    :
    This can be done in VB fairly easily. I've not used VBScript, so I can't say if it can be converted. Is the code long? if not, maybe you could post it here, and we could take a look?

In any case, look at the Open command in VB. You would open the file, input it one line at a time, and search of the desired word.

You don't need a form in VB, and don't need user interaction.

Let us know if you need specific help.

Melissa