Newbie needs basic graphics help

Hi everyone,
I'm learning the basics of graphics programming. All I want to do right now is set the video mode, put pixels, and draw lines for fractals. I've got a book on fractals written in 1994 with some Turbo Basic examples. I am fairly conversant in C/C++ and assembly. I haven't really written any assembly on the PC, but I have on several microcontrollers and my old Atari 800 back in the day. I downloaded a nice tutorial on VGA from this site (by Denthor) but it only talks about MCGA (320x200x256). This turorial was last updated in 1994. My Borland C/C++ compiler is of the same vintage. I'm just a weekend programmer searching for very basic info --- any help much appreciated.

Thanks,
Jeff Johnson
jjohnson@csw.L-3com.com

Comments

• : Hi everyone,
    : I'm learning the basics of graphics programming. All I want to do right now is set the video mode,
    : put pixels, and draw lines for fractals. I've got a book on fractals written in 1994 with some Turbo
    : Basic examples. I am fairly conversant in C/C++ and assembly. I haven't really written any
    : assembly on the PC, but I have on several microcontrollers and my old Atari 800 back in the day.
    : I downloaded a nice tutorial on VGA from this site (by Denthor) but it only talks about
    : MCGA (320x200x256).

Since you have some tut (Download more of them!!!) I'll talk about svga in brief. The graphics
    principles are the same whatever displaymode you have. In 256 (indexed) modes you need
    1 byte per pixel, Highcolor 2 bytes, Truecolor 3 / 4 bytes depending on your graphics card.
    Putting the right amount of bytes into graphics adapters memoryaddress you get the pixel visible.

When using linear modes in svga you don't need to worry about segments and page-setting.
    But if you don't have some library to help you you need to set the correct page for drawing