Direct X or OpenGL?????? Which one should i start with

Im Just starting out , and I want to know which one I should start with and how much it will cost!!!!!!

Im really looking for the easiest one off the two so i can get started.

Thank you Ernie

Comments

• They are both free. You can get OpenGL from opengl.org and DirectX from microsoft.com, just look for it.

OpenGL is easier if you're doing 3D stuff, DirectX is easier for 2D stuff (in general). They are both equally powerful in the graphics field, but DirectX is also useful for when you need to use Direct Input, Sound, Play, et cetera.

• : Im Just starting out , and I want to know which one I should start with and how much it will cost!!!!!!
    :
    : Im really looking for the easiest one off the two so i can get started.
    :
    : Thank you Ernie
    :

I'd say start with Direct X... It's free.. And it can do mare than graphics... sound, input... etc.. However... when you getinto Heavy Heavy 3D programming... you then should go check out Open GL... Open GL is good for 3D but so is Direct X

URL:http://www.wicketware.com

• Are they a set of headers? People say they program sound and graphics in C++, obviously they are not drawing in code so are they just positioning existing pictures with code? and is sound simmilar? (tell midi's when to play etc) I'm going to find some books on the subject that will give me more info, but could you please give me a basic understaning of what exctly is being done?
    thx

: Im Just starting out , and I want to know which one I should start with and how much it will cost!!!!!!
    :
    : Im really looking for the easiest one off the two so i can get started.
    :
    : Thank you Ernie
    :

• OpenGL and DirectX are both composed of a set of (or in the case of OpenGL, one) dll file. You get the lib and header files to make it so that your program can understand how to interact with the imported dll's.