Anybody knows of good C/C++ exercises for beginners on the Web?

I found out that my learning process goes much smoother when I can get hands on the things. Pure theory puts me to sleep.

I did a little research myself but couldn't come up with anything. There are plenty of tutorials, no exercises though. I appreciate your response!

Comments

• visit http://www.deja.com/~cyberdevelopers

there are few good links

: I found out that my learning process goes much smoother when I can get hands on the things. Pure theory puts me to sleep.

: I did a little research myself but couldn't come up with anything. There are plenty of tutorials, no exercises though. I appreciate your response!

• When I taught college C++, I found the following projects to work well. To the complete beginner, some of these are very challenging. Even to the expert, some of the possible enhancements (especially for the piglatin one) hold a few surprises.

If you need a hint on any of these, e-mail me and I'll be happy to help. These are fun projects that are challenging (as challenging as you want them to be) without taking too long to write. Great hobby stuff.

1. Pick a number

In it's simplest form, the computer generates a random number (look up srand() and rand()) and prompts the user to guess it. The computer prompts the player with "higher" and "lower" until the user gets it right. A slightly more complex version asks the user for a number and then tries to guess it, letting the user indicate "higher" or "lower". The final version uses two modules--best as C++ objects, one that generates a random number and one that tries to guess it.

This project teaches basic I/O, storage in variables, looping, and branching.

2. Blackjack

This project is more complicated (and more rewarding) than the pick-a-number game, but many of the underlying principles are the same. goal is to write a computer blackjack game with simplified rules. The simplified rules are as follows: