Inline assembly with c++

What cant you do with __asm blocks. I have trouble compiling my code and was wondering if i had to set Visual Studio 2005 up a special way to make everything work. anyone know what i'm talking about?

Comments

• ISO C does not support inline assembler at all.

ISO C++ only supports the following syntax:

asm ("NOP");

Anything else is not standard syntax and may not work when porting the code to a different compiler or system. Examples of inline assembler that isn't standard C++:

__asm

asm { "NOP" };

asm { NOP };

asm NOP;
  • [color=Blue]I use __asm all the time in VS 2005 - never had any issues. What exactly is the problem? Does it compile? Ot you have problem running the code?[/color]
  • : [color=Blue]I use __asm all the time in VS 2005 - never had any
    : issues. What exactly is the problem? Does it compile? Ot you have
    : problem running the code?[/color]

i cant get everything to compile. I'm new to asm and i dont know exactly what i can do __asm. I'm more comfortable using it in c++ in VS 2005 then something like NASM. i'm trying to do some low level file io and seem to get opcode errors with things like labels/syboles.
  • : : [color=Blue]I use __asm all the time in VS 2005 - never had any
    : : issues. What exactly is the problem? Does it compile? Ot you have
    : : problem running the code?[/color]
    :
    : i cant get everything to compile. I'm new to asm and i dont know
    : exactly what i can do __asm. I'm more comfortable using it in c++ in
    : VS 2005 then something like NASM. i'm trying to do some low level
    : file io and seem to get opcode errors with things like
    : labels/syboles.
    :

Post your error messages and which compiler, linker and assembler you're using.
  • : : : [color=Blue]I use __asm all the time in VS 2005 - never had any
    : : : issues. What exactly is the problem? Does it compile? Ot you have
    : : : problem running the code?[/color]
    : :