Help needed with GetAsyncKeyState...

As my other recent posts indicate, I'm rather new to Delphi. I've been fiddling around with the GetAsyncKeyState function for a program I'm starting on, but I can't seem to get it to work properly. I've made the below code just to test it:

[CODE]
WHILE GetAsyncKeyState(VK_RETURN) = 0 DO BEGIN
GotoXY(1, 1);
Write(GetAsyncKeyState(VK_DELETE));
END;
[/CODE]
The problem is that the console window just freezes, most of the time showing "0", but sometimes showing "1". If I press RETURN or DELETE nothing happens. After a while the computer just beeps every time I press a button and I have to CTRL-ALT-DEL and shut down the console window. Does this have something to do with focus? What am I doing wrong?

Comments

• : As my other recent posts indicate, I'm rather new to Delphi. I've been fiddling around with the GetAsyncKeyState function for a program I'm starting on, but I can't seem to get it to work properly. I've made the below code just to test it:
    :
    : [CODE]
    : WHILE GetAsyncKeyState(VK_RETURN) = 0 DO BEGIN
    : GotoXY(1, 1);
    : Write(GetAsyncKeyState(VK_DELETE));
    : END;
    : [/CODE]
    : The problem is that the console window just freezes, most of the time showing "0", but sometimes showing "1". If I press RETURN or DELETE nothing happens. After a while the computer just beeps every time I press a button and I have to CTRL-ALT-DEL and shut down the console window. Does this have something to do with focus? What am I doing wrong?
    :
    The console window needs to be able to process messages. In this loop, you are not processing any messages, which will hang the console window. Console applications should only be used to write command-line tools, or programs with very little (to no) user I/O. For all other applications a GUI program is much easier to design.
  • [b][red]This message was edited by PP2005 at 2006-9-12 23:27:17[/red][/b][hr]