Help with Marks Massive VB RPG game tutorial...

[b][red]This message was edited by Graiskye at 2006-8-15 1:2:26[/red][/b][hr]
Hello everyone, I have been looking for an active message board for a while. I am trying to teach myslef how to program using VB. Not having access to anyone who is an expert in VB a message board is the next best thing.
I have just started to work thru this reccomended tutorial, and whil;e it seems a little old, the author stated that itwill work in VB6, but I get a compile error right of the bat in the declarations...
Seems the problem is with this bit of code, tho I may be wrong??

[code]' create the Character array
Global Char As CharArray
' define the character inventory array
Global CharInv(10) As Integer[/code]

If required of course I can post the whole code. Im very new to VB so sorry if its something obvious, Thanks in advance for any advice, help whatever. Grais

Edit: I believe it is a syntax error I was getting due to the cut and paste, I downloaded the code itself and the program runs fine, I can go in and find the bit I was having a problem with and it looks good.
When I originally cut and paste the code it seems some character substitution takes place all the comments need to be fixed quotes and hyphens(if thats the right word)and for some strange reason all the lines with Global Char.
Thanks.

Comments

• : [b][red]This message was edited by Graiskye at 2006-8-15 1:2:26[/red][/b][hr]
    : Hello everyone, I have been looking for an active message board for a while. I am trying to teach myslef how to program using VB. Not having access to anyone who is an expert in VB a message board is the next best thing.
    : I have just started to work thru this reccomended tutorial, and whil;e it seems a little old, the author stated that itwill work in VB6, but I get a compile error right of the bat in the declarations...
    : Seems the problem is with this bit of code, tho I may be wrong??
    :