Begginer's Loop Questions

Hey all, I'm new to this C++ thing and I've run across this program in my book which takes in five values and returns their sum and average. It's written as such:

double number;
double sum=0.0;
for (int i=1; i <= 5; i++)
{
cout << "Enter Value " << i << " : ";
cin >> number;
sum += number;
} //block ends here
cout << "
These numbers sum to: " << sum;
cout << "
These numbers average: " << sum/5;

I have two questions regarding this program.

1) How does the "sum +=number" line work? I understand the += concept, however, what I don't understand is how this line tells the computer to store each number and add all 5 of them together at the end. Unless I'm mistaken as to the operation of +=, this is not something that the operator should do. Yet it does.....

2) Let's say I rewrite the loop command line to read:

for (int i=1; i = 5; i++) //note the change of i=5....

Shouldn't this loop terminate as soon as the expression is false (i.e. shouldn't the loop not run at all, because the beggining i=1?)

Yet, when I run the program, I get stuck in this infinite loop of the program asking me to "Enter Value 5:". What is wrong with my thinking here?

Thanks!

Comments

• : Hey all, I'm new to this C++ thing and I've run across this program in my book which takes in five values and returns their sum and average. It's written as such:
    :
    : ****************************************
    : double number;
    : double sum=0.0;
    : for (int i=1; i <= 5; i++)
    : {
    : cout << "Enter Value " << i << " : ";
    : cin >> number;
    : sum += number;
    : } //block ends here
    : cout << "
    : ***********************************************
    :
    :
    : I have two questions regarding this program.
    :