Simple String Question

Hey everyone, I'm kinda new to this C++ thing, and I've just picked up a book and I'm working through the exercises.

Anyways, one exercise asks me to write a program that will ask the user:

"What kind of grade do you deserve in your class", and then, output a grade that is one below the grade inputted.

So if the user says "I deserve a B", the computer will output "Grade: C". I am not supposed to use "if" or "switch" as I have not reached that chapter in the book yet :)

Right now, I'm thinking pointers might be the way to go, but I'm not sure.

Anyways, here's what I've got so far:

--------------------------------------------------------

cout << "What letter grade do you deserve? ";
char * grade = new char [5];
grade[0]= 'A';
grade[1]= 'B';
grade[2]= 'C';
grade[3]= 'D';
grade[4]= 'F';
cin >> grade; // IS THIS CORRECT???

grade = grade - 1;
cout << "
Grade: " << grade;
delete [] grade;

----------------------------------------------------

Thanks!

Comments

• : Hey everyone, I'm kinda new to this C++ thing, and I've just picked up a book and I'm working through the exercises.
    :
    : Anyways, one exercise asks me to write a program that will ask the user:
    :
    : "What kind of grade do you deserve in your class", and then, output a grade that is one below the grade inputted.
    :
    : So if the user says "I deserve a B", the computer will output "Grade: C". I am not supposed to use "if" or "switch" as I have not reached that chapter in the book yet :)
    :
    : Right now, I'm thinking pointers might be the way to go, but I'm not sure.
    :
    : Anyways, here's what I've got so far:
    :
    : --------------------------------------------------------
    :
    : cout << "What letter grade do you deserve? ";
    : char * grade = new char [5];
    : grade[0]= 'A';
    : grade[1]= 'B';
    : grade[2]= 'C';
    : grade[3]= 'D';
    : grade[4]= 'F';
    : cin >> grade; // IS THIS CORRECT???
    :
    : grade = grade - 1;