Calls in Linux

I am new to Linux, in fact, I have never used it. I have used computers, and understand the hardware pretty well. So, why shouldn't I be able to use Linux as an OS? my understanding sayes it's a command driven OS like DOS, but not the same commands. Okay, but all the research I do turns up millions of functions that appear to be some massive class library for C++. I only used like 3 commands in DOS. D:(drive), dir, and copy. If I can install a kernal, and somehow get all the drivers that go to it installed. Then install a windows maneger and a desktop, will I be alright?

Comments

• : I am new to Linux, in fact, I have never used it. I have used computers, and understand the hardware pretty well. So, why shouldn't I be able to use Linux as an OS? my understanding sayes it's a command driven OS like DOS, but not the same commands. Okay, but all the research I do turns up millions of functions that appear to be some massive class library for C++. I only used like 3 commands in DOS. D:(drive), dir, and copy. If I can install a kernal, and somehow get all the drivers that go to it installed. Then install a windows maneger and a desktop, will I be alright?
    :

You should install Red Het linux with kernal and four shell

• : : I am new to Linux, in fact, I have never used it. I have used computers, and understand the hardware pretty well. So, why shouldn't I be able to use Linux as an OS? my understanding sayes it's a command driven OS like DOS, but not the same commands. Okay, but all the research I do turns up millions of functions that appear to be some massive class library for C++. I only used like 3 commands in DOS. D:(drive), dir, and copy. If I can install a kernal, and somehow get all the drivers that go to it installed. Then install a windows maneger and a desktop, will I be alright?