super newb to java

Hey i just started learning java today and i downloaded the jdk version 1.2.1 and I can't figure out how to work it. could some help me.

Comments

• Does anyone know a good site to learn java from for free? or a book

: Getting started guide:
    : http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/getStarted/cupojava/index.html
    :
    : ---------------------------------
    : [size=1]HOWTO ask questions: http://catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html[/size]
    :
    :

• Try this tutorial:
    http://www-106.ibm.com/developerworks/edu/j-dw-javaessentials-i.html

You have to register for it, but that's free. It is a very good tutorial that'll learn you the basics of Java.

Hope this helps you.

--=][tReShR][=--

• You can try this, too:

www.sleepinggiantsoftware.com/FGJ

Is slanted toward games, but has step-by-step instructions that take you from installing Java to writing your first programs using an IDE.

Good luck,

K.

: Try this tutorial:
    : http://www-106.ibm.com/developerworks/edu/j-dw-javaessentials-i.html
    :
    : You have to register for it, but that's free. It is a very good tutorial that'll learn you the basics of Java.
    :
    : Hope this helps you.
    :
    : --=][tReShR][=--
    :
    :

• I would also advise you to use Eclipse for developing Java apps.
    it is totally free, and it has some interesting features that makes programming a lot easier.

You can download it at: http://www.eclipse.org

Good luck.

--=][tReShR][=--

• How do i set a variable to hold more then one letter. I am trying to set it to [code]char Var = Hello;[/code] but its giving me an error.

: I would also advise you to use Eclipse for developing Java apps.
    : it is totally free, and it has some interesting features that makes programming a lot easier.
    :
    : You can download it at: http://www.eclipse.org
    :
    : Good luck.
    :
    : --=][tReShR][=--
    :
    :