Open Folder Command in VB6

I use VB6 and for the life of me I cannot figure out what code to use which would allow me to simply open a folder so that I may select from several Word Documents. Please excuse my ignorance, I'm a lawyer not a Computer Expert! Thanks!

Bob Nichols

Comments

• We understand that it is hard not understanding the ways of the force, but in time your powers will grow :P

To open a folder in the "Explorer" you have to send it to the "Explorer" as you would a file to any other program. So assuming you know the location of the windows explorer executable...

you can use the SHELL command... Like so...

Shell("Explorer.exe C:Windows")

And what that does is sends "C:Windows" to the explorer and a window will open with the contents of the Windows folder on the C drive.

The reason you don't normaly need to type in C:WindowsSystem32Explorer.exe is because windows has a setting that says it is assumed that if you don't type in a path for the executable you are trying to use a system executable ( or a file located at a default location)...

I hope I wasn't confusing with that, if so let me know and I'll whip out some more detail.

:)
    ><//~Psightoplasm`~

• : I use VB6 and for the life of me I cannot figure out what code to use which would allow me to simply open a folder so that I may select from several Word Documents. Please excuse my ignorance, I'm a lawyer not a Computer Expert! Thanks!
    :
    : Bob Nichols
    :
    Open the tools/components list (ctrl-T) and choose the "Microsoft Common Dialog Control". The help system will take you the rest of the way.

----------------
    Walt

• : We understand that it is hard not understanding the ways of the force, but in time your powers will grow :P
    :
    : To open a folder in the "Explorer" you have to send it to the "Explorer" as you would a file to any other program. So assuming you know the location of the windows explorer executable...
    :
    :