Can someone tell me why my code won't run?

I am new to this guys so sorry for being the newbie on the block.

When I run this program all I get is garbage to print on the screen.

Here is my code:

Start:
mov AX,19H
add AX,32H
mov DX,AX
mov AH,09
int 21h
mov AH,4ch
mov AL,00
int 21h

All it is ment to do is add 25 to 50 and display the total. It doesn't work. I'm using NASM and ALINK.

Comments

• : I am new to this guys so sorry for being the newbie on the block.
    :
    : When I run this program all I get is garbage to print on the screen.
    :
    : Here is my code:
    : [code]
    : ; --- Start:
    : mov AX,19H
    : add AX,32H
    : mov DX,AX
    : mov AH,09
    : int 21h
    : mov AH,4ch
    : mov AL,00
    : int 21h
    : [/code]

: All it is ment to do is add 25 to 50 and display the total. It doesn't work. I'm using NASM and ALINK.
    :
    [blue]The function AH=9 of INT 21H will output a text string, and you are passing the numbers in DX. DX should contain the address of a string which should be located in DATA segment. What you need to do is:

1. Add the values as you did already
    2. Convert the sum into a string terminated by a sign '$'
    3. Point DX to the beginning of that string and call AH=9 function

Some conversion sample code can be found at my site:
    www.codexxi.com -> Components

Or search the web on how to convert the value in register into the string value. Basically, the idea is to divide a number by 10 and get the remainders of this division as single digits:

8468 / 10 -> 846 and 8 remains, so you have now digit '8'
    846 / 10 -> 84 and 6 remains, so you have now digit '6'
    84 / 10 -> 8 and 4 remains, so you have now digit '4'
    8 / 10 -> 0 and 8 remains, so you have now digit '8'

As soon as result is zero you stop converting.
    The trick is to save digits from the end of a string - you notice that the digits comes out backwards.
    [/blue]
  • : : I am new to this guys so sorry for being the newbie on the block.