Do I need to POP?

[code] push MB_OK
lea eax,MsgBoxCaption

push eax
lea eax, MsgBoxText

push eax

push NULL

call MessageBoxA[/code]

Do I need to pop eax before exiting my app?
If yes, why? Is it like deallocaing in C/C++?

Comments

• : [code] push MB_OK
    : lea eax,MsgBoxCaption
    :
    : push eax
    : lea eax, MsgBoxText
    :
    : push eax
    :
    : push NULL
    :
    : call MessageBoxA[/code]
    :
    : Do I need to pop eax before exiting my app?
    : If yes, why? Is it like deallocaing in C/C++?

In this case I believe you are pushing the arguments to MessageBoxA onto the stack so that MessageBoxA can pop them off and use them, so no, you don't need to pop eax (unless perhaps MessageBoxA puts a return value there). I'm very new to this so that's just a semi-educated guess.

[size=5][italic][blue][RED]i[/RED]nfidel[/blue][/italic][/size]

• : : [code] push MB_OK
    : : lea eax,MsgBoxCaption
    : :
    : : push eax
    : : lea eax, MsgBoxText
    : : push eax
    : : push NULL
    : : call MessageBoxA[/code]
    : : Do I need to pop eax before exiting my app?
    : : If yes, why? Is it like deallocaing in C/C++?
    :
    : In this case I believe you are pushing the arguments to MessageBoxA onto the stack so that MessageBoxA can pop them off and use them, so no, you don't need to pop eax (unless perhaps MessageBoxA puts a return value there). I'm very new to this so that's just a semi-educated guess.
    :
    :
    : [size=5][italic][blue][RED]i[/RED]nfidel[/blue][/italic][/size]
    :
    :
    [blue]That is correct - when you call Win32 to 'serve' you - POPs not needed. And the return code of a Win32 API Function is always in EAX register.[/blue]

• : : : [code] push MB_OK
    : : : lea eax,MsgBoxCaption
    : : :
    : : : push eax
    : : : lea eax, MsgBoxText
    : : : push eax
    : : : push NULL
    : : : call MessageBoxA[/code]
    : : : Do I need to pop eax before exiting my app?
    : : : If yes, why? Is it like deallocaing in C/C++?