I am new. Can you help me with classes?

I am very new to Python programming. I am currently studying from a book "Learning Python" by O'Reilly. I was doing fairly well, but I got stuck in Chapter 6: Classes. The problem I was stuck on was this.

class FirstClass:
def setdata(self, value):
self.data = value
def display(self):
print self.data

These are the examples the book used with that class:

>>>x = FirstClass()
>>>x.setdata("King Arthur")
>>>x.display()
>>>King Arthur

That's the part I don't get. In function setdata, there are two arguments. One is "self" and other is "value". But, in the example, the book only used one, "King Arthur". Also, "self" was never defined. Shouldn't it display an error like "NameError: name 'self' is not defined"? Someone please help!

Comments

• [b][red]This message was edited by Moderator at 2003-8-28 11:51:39[/red][/b][hr]
    : I am very new to Python programming. I am currently studying from a book "Learning Python" by O'Reilly. I was doing fairly well, but I got stuck in Chapter 6: Classes. The problem I was stuck on was this.
    : [code]
    : class FirstClass:
    : def setdata(self, value):
    : self.data = value
    : def display(self):
    : print self.data
    : [/code]
    : These are the examples the book used with that class:
    :
    : >>>x = FirstClass()
    : >>>x.setdata("King Arthur")
    : >>>x.display()
    : >>>King Arthur
    :
    : That's the part I don't get. In function setdata, there are two arguments. One is "self" and other is "value". But, in the example, the book only used one, "King Arthur". Also, "self" was never defined. Shouldn't it display an error like "NameError: name 'self' is not defined"? Someone please help!