Advice.

Like you all were at one point, I am a complete novice on programming. The particular kind of programming I'm interested in is Game programming. So I was wondering if anyone has any advice that would help? Like what languages would be good to look into and things of that sort.

Thank you.

Comments

• Hi Noside.

I personally would check out BlitzBasic at http://www.blitzbasic.com

That is a good, easy, fast language (in my opinion) to learn. You can download a demo version that is fully functional other than you cant compile the programs you make so you have to run them from inside BB.

Good place to start and learn how programs go together. If you need any help with it give me an email. I started a basic tutorial of bb on my site http://www.rbm.com.au/staticgerbil you can check out if you want.

Cheers.

: Like you all were at one point, I am a complete novice on programming. The particular kind of programming I'm interested in is Game programming. So I was wondering if anyone has any advice that would help? Like what languages would be good to look into and things of that sort.
    :
    : Thank you.
    :

• [b][red]This message was edited by funkydude9 at 2003-7-2 15:15:59[/red][/b][hr]
    [b][red]This message was edited by funkydude9 at 2003-7-2 15:11:22[/red][/b][hr]
    First of all, I think most of us around here are novices. Second of all, if I were you, I would take Blitz Basic, roll it up into a small piece of trash, and eat it. (no offense staticgerbil). Serously though, I think everyone around here would agree that C++ is a very good all-around language. You can do a lot with it, and that should be everyone's first laungauge. That's just my opinion, though. ;) Another good word of advice: learn how to program the basics before programming games.

• No offence taken funkydude :) But i think i would feed it to your brother or sister. I have heard it can do weird things to your digestive system.