[advanced] Reading from a file, part I

Hi guys, am I the first girl to post here :) ?

Ok, let's get to the point:

let's say there is a text file with this type of

content:

[string] [int] [char] [int] [char] [string]

or

[Beta] [5],[0] [;] [beta load 4.0 build 127]

(not always in this order; ints might be first)

How would I recognize whether the data I'm reading is

a string (char[]), integer, double, or a single char.

Notice: every thing after the character [;] is considered

a comment.

So, that the string "beta load 4.0 ..." is a "full"

string; numbers 4.0 and 127 are part of it (so I would

read it as a string)

Any ideas? I'm kinda new to files...

Comments

• : Hi guys, am I the first girl to post here :) ?

Probably not, but probably one of the first to announce it.

: Ok, let's get to the point:

Damn fine idea.

: let's say there is a text file with this type of

: content:

: [string] [int] [char] [int] [char] [string]

: ...

: or

: [Beta] [5],[0] [;] [beta load 4.0 build 127]

: (not always in this order; ints might be first)

: How would I recognize whether the data I'm reading is

: a string (char[]), integer, double, or a single char.

Well, without getting down into language grammars, there's still a relatively simple way to explain it. However, it requires that your data be unambiguous. For example, if either of your 'int' fields can come in any order, how do you tell which number means what?

If, before the comment, any field can come in any position then you must have a way to differentiate the different inputs. The easiest way to tell the difference between a string and a number is to decide that if it starts with a letter, then its a string, and if it starts with a number, then its an integer. I know this is insufficient to deal with floating point numbers in addition to ints, but bear with me -- this simple case may give you ideas for more complex cases.