Porting code from Pc to Mac

Hi, Im learning 3d gameprogramming on the pc, but ive been thinkin

bout getting a mac ( they are a lot more reliable ).

the problem is how I port the code to the mac.

The book ( cutting edge 3d game programming with c++ )

says that "some readers" have suceeded in doing so in

a matter of hours. Im pretty new to c++, and I havent got a clue

where to get help or start if im gonna port my code.

I will at least finish the book BEFORE I buy my macintosh.

It would be nothing but stupid to change now.

hope for an answer

//durandal

Comments

• : the problem is how I port the code to the mac.

: The book ( cutting edge 3d game programming with c++ )

: says that "some readers" have suceeded in doing so in

: a matter of hours.

It's not totally trivial if you're not using ANSI C or C++, which, if you're doing graphical work, is true. I've done this sort of thing before for small modules.

It comes down to how modularized the code you want to port is. For example, if all of the mathematical components in your 3d book are isolated, then they'll work just as well under a Mac compiler as a PC one. Then, all you have to translate is the graphical routines themselves.

On the other hand, if they've been thoughtless enough to mingle machine-specific GUI stuff with the mathematical model, then your job will be more difficult (because you'll have to weed through a lot more code).

In any event, the part that you will have the most work with, or even be forced to rewrite, will be the bits that interact directly with the operating system. For example, you will have a different initialization procedure to get the operating system set up. You'll have a different event handling loop to deal with menus and mouse clicks. This will be the tough part.