Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Most basic help...

MatthewDMatthewD Member Posts: 297
Hello all,

I've finally decided to make the break and try out Linux and gcc. (I'm a developer on MSVC, so my job will continue to force me to use Windows... for now)

I have no experience with Linux or UNIX.

After reading around a bit, I have decided to go with RedHat. My questions:

1) Is there any reason to not go with RH 7.2? Is 7.1 more stable/better in any way?

2) It looked like to me that I could download the release for free. It seems that the only thing paying $59 gets you is a months worth of internet support. Is there any other reason why I shouldn't download the release? Or is the internet support really worth it?

3) Regarding downloading, what exactly do I need to download (or where can I find more complete instructions)? What about hardware specific drivers?

4) What space requirements do I need for Linux and a windows manager, gcc, and a browerser?

5) Speaking of windows manager, can I download both Gnome and KDE and switch between the two at will?

Thanks for your help. I hope to back again in a few days/weeks with more installation questions.

Matthew.

Comments

• jeffpostjeffpost Member Posts: 316
    : Hello all,
    :
    : I've finally decided to make the break and try out Linux and gcc.

Great!

: (I'm a developer on MSVC, so my job will continue to force me to use Windows... for now)

Life isn't perfect.

:
    : I have no experience with Linux or UNIX.
    :
    : After reading around a bit, I have decided to go with RedHat.

Good choice.

My questions:
    :
    : 1) Is there any reason to not go with RH 7.2? Is 7.1 more stable/better in any way?

I use 7.2. It's the most stable, feature rich distro I've used so far. Go with it.

: