Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Installing Linux

Mike BMike B Member Posts: 136
I'm new to Linux. I downloaded the two .iso files from their (extremely slow) servers, and burt each to a CD-R. According to the RedHat website, I just need to shove the CD into the drive and turn on the computer. Well, I did, and it said
"No operating system found"

Well, then I wrote boot.img to a floppy (after having to dl special software to write it), and put that in the A: drive.

I got to what I think is the Linux boot screen, and I hit [Enter] to install Linux. Well, whaddya know, it doesn't work!

It says:
Loading initrd.img...........
Loading vmlinuz.....Boot Failed

Redhat.com has nothing on the topic. And, no one I know who has Linux knows what went wrong.

Well, can you help?

----

Comments

• garwaingarwain Member Posts: 297
    Check in your BIOS and set your 1st boot device to your CDROM, then try booting your machine with the CD in the drive.

If that doesn't help then I'd say there is something wrong with your CD.

Personally I've found that it's easier to just buy a copy of the CD's from www.cheapbytes.com . They usually arrive in a couple days and only cost a couple dollars for the cd's and shipping.

I hope this helps

: I'm new to Linux. I downloaded the two .iso files from their (extremely slow) servers, and burt each to a CD-R. According to the RedHat website, I just need to shove the CD into the drive and turn on the computer. Well, I did, and it said
    : "No operating system found"
    :
    : Well, then I wrote boot.img to a floppy (after having to dl special software to write it), and put that in the A: drive.
    :
    : I got to what I think is the Linux boot screen, and I hit [Enter] to install Linux. Well, whaddya know, it doesn't work!
    :
    : It says:
    : Loading initrd.img...........
    : Loading vmlinuz.....Boot Failed
    :