Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

how do i make batch files

minor59erminor59er Member Posts: 7
I want to learn how to make a batch file.
Im new at this so if anyone could give me a site or could tell me how to do it then that would be greatful.

Comments

• BASIC FriendBASIC Friend Member Posts: 354
    : I want to learn how to make a batch file.
    : Im new at this so if anyone could give me a site or could tell me how to do it then that would be greatful.
    :
    There are Batch tuts out there. I don't have the url's right now, but you should find something if you do a search.

Ok, Batches are easy. All they are is Dos commands. Open your editor and type in a few dos commands (one on each line) save it as *.bat and that's pretty much it. There are commands like IF ERRORLEVEL that are useful only in batches.

• Stoic JokerStoic Joker Member Posts: 84
    Greetings
    Use any text editor to create the file, just remember to put the file name in quotation marks when you save it i.e. "myfile.bat" This will allow it to be saved as an executable batch file & not let windows force the default .txt extension on it.

Stoic Joker

: Im new at this so if anyone could give me a site or could tell me how to do it then that would be greatful.
    :

• Secret_DoomSecret_Doom Member Posts: 116
    :

Hi. I disagree a little with BASIC Friend. Batch is indeed a simple language, even more if we compare it to other languages.

But as any computer language, Batch can reach very complex levels. It is a simple language because the number of commands is small, but you can do many things with it. When one reaches the level of using DEBUG combined with batch files, it gets really complex (but of course, very exciting =D ).

Just for giving ya an example of the variety of things you could do by batch:

- Shortcuts
    Let's say you have the following app:
    c:myfilesdataapps rirdppack