Red Hat 7 installation - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Red Hat 7 installation

GeoHoffmanGeoHoffman Posts: 176Member
First I want to say hello to the other members of this forum. This is my first post here.

I have installed Red Hat Linux 7. I installed it on a hard drive that already had Windows 98 SE on the first partition. When I try to boot Linux it freezes at a message that says :

Kernel panic: VFS: Unable to mount FS on 03:03.

I am assuming the 03:03 has something to do with it being on the third partition (the partitions are 1: windows / 2: Linux Swap / 3: Linux). There are only two things I can think of that could be wrong as I am new to linux. Either there is no driver for my HD (a Quantum Fireball cx 3.5 series) or maybe Linux needs to be on the first partition. Should I try removing windows and installing Linux on the first partition? Where should I look to find out if my Hard Drive is supported? I tried the Red Hat page but I didn't see anything on drivers. Thanks for any help or even just reading this.

-Geo

Comments

• gautamgautam Posts: 642Member
    : First I want to say hello to the other members of this forum. This is my first post here.

Hello

:
    : I have installed Red Hat Linux 7. I installed it on a hard drive that already had Windows 98 SE on the first partition. When I try to boot Linux it freezes at a message that says :
    :
    : Kernel panic: VFS: Unable to mount FS on 03:03.
    :
    : I am assuming the 03:03 has something to do with it being on the third partition (the partitions are 1: windows / 2: Linux Swap / 3: Linux).

:There are only two things I can think of that could be wrong as
    :I am new to linux.Either there is no driver for my HD
    :(a Quantum Fireball cx 3.5 series) or maybe Linux needs to be
    :on the first partition.

Regarding the hard disk driver I am sure its quite well supported.