What's the best language to start with if I want to eventually go i...

Hello. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I am a complete beginner to programming, and need a little advice before getting started. I want to start with a language that's not next to impossible to learn for a beginner, but builds sound programming techniques and will give me an overall understanding of programming in general. I would like to eventually move into C++ programming, as I am told that this is the most powerful and flexible language around. Any advice or help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• I started right with C++ and have had no problems picking up other languages.

• : Hello. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I am a complete beginner to programming, and need a little advice before getting started. I want to start with a language that's not next to impossible to learn for a beginner, but builds sound programming techniques and will give me an overall understanding of programming in general. I would like to eventually move into C++ programming, as I am told that this is the most powerful and flexible language around. Any advice or help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

Ah, if I were you, I'd start with C/C++. I can't think of any languages I'd recommend learning before C/C++. BASIC causes brain damage. No offense....

• : Hello. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but I am a complete beginner to programming, and need a little advice before getting started. I want to start with a language that's not next to impossible to learn for a beginner, but builds sound programming techniques and will give me an overall understanding of programming in general. I would like to eventually move into C++ programming, as I am told that this is the most powerful and flexible language around. Any advice or help you can give me will be greatly appreciated.