Perl yes/no? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Perl yes/no?

I am a beginner programmer and I know some C and C++ and a lot of truebasic, i want to be a proffesional programmer. I have only heard of PERL once or twice. What is it like and is it worth learning? if so, where can i find a good book for it?thanx in advance
a beginner

Comments

• Perl is a scripting language - a very important one from unix point of view. Its syntax is very similar to c

Best books for perl :-
    Programming Perl - by Tom Christansien and Larry Wall.
    Perl cookbook.
    (Both are a must).

Its worth learning it.

: I am a beginner programmer and I know some C and C++ and a lot of truebasic, i want to be a proffesional programmer. I have only heard of PERL once or twice. What is it like and is it worth learning? if so, where can i find a good book for it?thanx in advance
    : a beginner
    :

• Perl is a definite "YES". It is one of the more powerful scripting languages I have ever come across, and it is still seemingly the web-standard for server-side scripting.

If you are familiar with C and C++, learning Perl ought to be a breeze. However, I don't really recommend dropping the money on a book. What I have found through time is that all the information I have ever wanted to look up has been readily available online.

Here are a few good websites about Perl/related modules to start with: