Making a program to print "Hello [name]!" - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Making a program to print "Hello [name]!"

I'm very very new to Java, currently taking a college course in it. I'm supposed to start with the following program, and change it so that when the user types in their name, the program will print "Hello, [name]!" I have absolutely no idea where to start, and would enormously appreciate any help you folks could give.
___
import javax.swing.J0ptionPane;

public class DialogViewer
{
public static void main(String[] args)
{
String name = J0ptionPane.showInputDialog("What is your name?");
System.out.println(name);
System.exit(0);
}
}

Comments

• uletus2uletus2 Posts: 3Member
    Hi there; you have reached the SOS programmer-hotline,

Somehow you have to define "name" as a variable, like a container ship holding the letters which build the person's name.

Also you're missing the equivalent of the BASIC INPUT$ statement.
    In Pascal this is readln as opposed to writeln which is for outputting fixed constant strings and both numeric and string variables and even calculations.

I'm absolutely no expert on Java, I'll look it up for you... Hung on...

System.out.print("Hello, what's your name? ");
    String name=readLine();
    System.out.println("Hello "+name+"!");
    System.out.println("");
    System.out.println("More tutorials in http://www.iki.fi/karvinen");
    ^source on the internet where I found this.