Daunted, yet Undeterred - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Daunted, yet Undeterred

Hi!

I was curious, just arrived, and wondered if anyone can offer me some sage advice... if the answers exist.

I'm new to programming, have only gone thru a basic ebook course using python, so I understand some basic concepts but nothing functional. I keep having these ideas I want to put together, (mostly games, but some other misc projects as well) but I have no idea if they are even possible or marketable (and frankly I don't care - it's about the end result for me, not the money. Phooey!). And so far it looks like I have to have a 4-year degree to even [b]begin[/b] on anything...

Um... Yeah. Not too keen on taking classes (esp. on my own!), I have thought about getting someone to teach me, but that doesn't seem to happen usually... and um... I'm broke. For me it'd be best to be taught thru working on a project, but that doesn't seem to be available either... So not sure where to begin?

Anyway, I'm not complaining or looking for a shortcut or anything, just seeing if anyone has any advice for an aspiring programmer. Basically, I just want to create, for personal interest, a project or ten; and I want to learn to program - because (mainly) it's cool, and for the skills.

Also wondering if anyone else has run into this.

[italic]<<Duckwagon - meandering idealist; yet disconnected from reality>>[/italic]

Comments