Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Please? I need a good advice.

baldowzbaldowz Member Posts: 2
I plan to make a scheduling software for a school project. it targets the schedule making for college subjects but the problem here is that I am quite new to VB.NET. i plan to make it in grid design which is very similar to this one

http://demos.telerik.com/aspnet-ajax/scheduler/examples/resourcegrouping/defaultcs.aspx

i wish someone can help me go through this. :(

Comments

• seancampbellseancampbell Pennsylvania, USAMember Posts: 684 ✭✭✭
    [code]i wish someone can help me go through this.[/code]
    I can relate with that. I often wish the same exact thing.

There are many ways to approach a solution for this project. However, there is likely a limited amount of ways that you would be able to code yourself or understand at all. In fact, if you are trying to directly replicate what the Telerik control is doing, that is moderately difficult, not something I would suggest as a project to someone who is quite new to VB.Net.

If you want to design a scheduling software for a School Project, something that isn't going to be used by a client, but rather that you will be graded on.... Trust me and forget about trying to make it fancy. Even in the real world of programming, usability and look-and-feel are often sacrificed for the sake of shipping a product.

In regards to helping you through this, here's what I suggest:
    Take some time to think about all of the parts you will need to make this possible... That is the first step a programmer takes, conceptualizing the solution mentally. The majority of programming is simply problem solving.
    After you have a feeling for how you'd do it, write down on paper the Form's you'd need and break out what kind of objects or functionality each Form should have (like, 10 text boxes,a save button, cancel button, etc).