Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

What Does It Take To Be A Programmer ?

I am 39 years old and am anxious to change carreers and get into the programming field. While I am anxious to do so I do not want to waste any more time if I'm not being realistic.

I have been studying programming for about 1 1/2 years. I first took 2 community college courses in Cobol and now attend a business school where I have taken 2 courses in VB and will be taking 2 in C++ next.

I am somewhat getting the hang of it and can write some simple stuff using arrays, functions, procedures, random and sequential file access etc.

I still have doubts about whether or not I have what it takes to be a programmer. Is being able to pick up the above concepts,(and not so easily at times)an indication of yes, or not necessarily.

I especially have these doubts when I browse through books on advanced topics. I recently have purchased some books on computer science and algorithms thinking this would help my overall programming education.

They were way above my head, especially the books on algorithms, even though it was titled (Introduction To Algorithms, Thomas Cormen). It was very heady. Im not sure I can see myself ever comprehending this stuff.

Is knowing this stuff essential to being a good programmer or is just learning the language sufficent.

Thanks in advance for your time and help

Mark

Comments