Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

pls hlp me implement the function malloc in c

liyangaliyanga Posts: 7Member
hello!
i am new to this language and i was asked to implement malloc() in c language. i understand how malloc works but have difficulties in implementation. pls help me out. if can gv m a simple code so dat i can learn more on this.

Comments

• liyangaliyanga Posts: 7Member
    and pls d help m as fast as u can cuz iv only 5 days left to complete this
  • AsmGuru62AsmGuru62 Posts: 6,519Member
    [color=Blue]malloc is a system function. What I mean is that it needs to allocate memory from the OS. And every C language has malloc already implemented. I do not see the point to do it.[/color]
    that is true.how ever we were asked to implement it in c as an assigment:(i find it hard as i am new to this language.pls b kind enough to help me.i have an idea of how 2 d it.but coding it is a problem
  • AsmGuru62AsmGuru62 Posts: 6,519Member
    [color=Blue]So, what is your idea? Because any such idea will involve calling malloc() from the system. How will it look? Your own MyMalloc() calling a system malloc()?!..[/color]
  • Gregry2Gregry2 Posts: 607Member
    Okay, perhaps instead of implement you mean use it in an example? Otherwise, we assume you mean create a function that allocates memory dynamically on the heap...IOW, actually create your own malloc() function...