Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Concept for a server uptime keeper

tgp1994tgp1994 Member Posts: 6
Hi there everyone, I'm one who generally hosts servers in Garry's Mod, a Source engine mod. Being widely open to many submodifications, it's difficult to keep that program up without it crashing. It gets particularly annoying when it freezes with an error, and needs me to manually reboot it. So anyways, I was kind of hoping that someone may be able to guide me through making a VB.Net program capable of

A)Detecting and keeping track of the specific server's process
B)Pinging it through the port I want
C)Ability to kill it when it freezes or an error pops up

I am pretty new to VB.Net, but I am (sort of) coming along.

Thanks in advance.

If anyone wants any more details, they can of course ask, too.

Comments

• seancampbellseancampbell Pennsylvania, USAMember Posts: 684 ✭✭✭
    Wish I could help ya, I have never done anything like that before.

Sounds like you'd want to write a windows service that resides on the server that keeps hanging up. The program would probably need permissions to reboot the computer, another thing I have never done from an app before.

If you run into any problems with code you've written, feel free to post up specific errors or lines of code you're having trouble with.

I tend to be better at solving specific issues, usually am not successful at helping new coders write applications, only help them understand why they are having errors with specific code

-sean c
  • tgp1994tgp1994 Member Posts: 6
    Thanks for replying.