Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Converting Seconds to Days, Hours, Minutes and Seconds

godkillzyougodkillzyou Posts: 9Member
Ok, so I'm studying with SAMS C++ Primer Plus (Fifth Edition). In chapter 3 "Dealing With Data," programming exercise #4 says:

"Write a program that asks the user to enter the number of seconds as an integer value (use type long) and that then displays the equivalent time in days, hours, minutes and seconds. Use symbolic constants to represent the number of hours in the day, the number of minutes in an hour, and the number of seconds in a minute."

This is driving me up a wall. I can't figure out how to do this.

This is what I've got so far...

[color=Blue]// Converting an input of seconds to
// Days, Hours, Minutes and Seconds.

#include
using namespace std;

long InSeconds;

const int HoursInDay = 24;
const int MinutesInHour = 60;
const int SecondsInMinute = 60;

int main()
{
cout << "This program will turn your seconds into days,"
<< " hours, minutes and seconds." << endl;
cout << "Enter the amount of seconds:__________";
cin >> InSeconds;

cout << "That's " << InSeconds / (SecondsInMinute * MinutesInHour * HoursInDay) << " day(s)..." << endl;

return 0; [/color]