Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Categories

We have migrated to a new platform! Please note that you will need to reset your password to log in (your credentials are still in-tact though). Please contact lee@programmersheaven.com if you have questions.
Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Newb: Getting into an Access 2002 db with vb.net

mikepreblemikepreble Posts: 5Member
Hi, I'm very new to application programming, but have a good number of years doing web based stuff with PHP/SQL.

What are the first steps I need to do to get into an Access 2002 database with Visual Basic 2008 Express?

Comments

• seancampbellseancampbell Pennsylvania, USAPosts: 684Member ✭✭✭

First add this above the "Public Class Form1" line of your application:
    [code]
    Imports System.Data
    Imports System.Data.OleDB
    [/code]

The Imports statement opens a "namespace" for you, so you can write commands to it without explicitly calling it. Without this, you would have to properly call variable types like this: System.Data.OleDB.OleDBConnection

Next, read this post that I made that describes how to connect to and manipulate data in an Access database (this is a common enough question that I wrote a tutorial for it a few months ago):
    http://www.programmersheaven.com/mb/VBNET/386345/386345/program-demonstrating-ms-access-database-manipulation/?S=B20000

I was never able to attach that screenshot...