Java beginner, help please

First off, im a beginner at Java. Im taking a class where we are currently learning about If-statements and While-statements, and theyre tripping me up a little bit. Any help would be appreciated.

Here is the desired output for what were doing...

Enter 10 whole numbers: 0 2 -10 21 0 8 -5 5 -3 -2
Sum of the positive numbers: 36
Sum of the negative numbers: -20
Sum of all the numbers: 16

Probably simple stuff for you guys, but heres whats causing me problems...We need to input the "10 whole numbers" after running the program, but I dont know how I can put just 10 numbers and have the program go to the next step, which is finding the sum.

Currently, there is no limit to the numbers I can put in there. I think I have a decent understanding of if statements, so I believe I can figure out the rest once I can just get how to put in just 10 numbers and have the program continue.

Thanks in an advance to anyone who can help me out a little bit.

Comments

• --first, you didn't mention how the numbers will be inputted into the program.. You could use GUI to accomplish this similar with Visual Basics Dialogs Box, Input Boxes etc.. or you will input through the console/command line (similar to C scanf).. but in java inputting through the console is trickier than using Java's GUI components..

i found this great post on how to accept input through the console:

http://www.coderanch.com/t/386991/Java-General-beginner/java/reading-integers-using-System

-- the one who posted this is really good (i also don't know this..)

well hope this helps.. good luck..

start of the program..

import java.io.*;

public class inputTenNumbers{

public static void main(String [] args) throws IOException
    {
    int counter=0;
    int sumOfAllInput=0, sumOfPositive=0, sumOfNegative=0;

while(counter<10){

//start of input code
    System.out.println("Please Enter a Number (No: " + (counter+1) + "): ");
    BufferedReader consoleIn =