Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Facebook Sign In with Google Sign In with OpenID

Categories

We have migrated to a new platform! Please note that you will need to reset your password to log in (your credentials are still in-tact though). Please contact lee@programmersheaven.com if you have questions.
Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Graphics discussion

obiWanobiWan Posts: 12Member
Hello,
I am just learning pascal and it's also my first programming language. Can someone help me along with doing graphics? I'm using freepascal on linux. What do I need to do to, for example, to draw a rectangle on the screen? And can I do something like that in a normal terminal like KDE's Konsole?

Comments

• Phat NatPhat Nat Posts: 757Member
    You can try the code below. The assembly should all be the same, not sure about the memory addressing in Linux though? It may crash sommething, but if not I can give you a whole graphics unit.

[code]
    USES Crt, Dos;

{ Draws a rectangle with Top-Left corner at X,Y and a size of Width*Height in COLOR on WHERE screen }
    PROCEDURE Rectangle(X, Y, Width, Height : Word; Color : Byte; Where : Word);
    Begin
    For Y := Y to (Y + Height) Do
    For X := X to (X + Width) Do
    Mem[Where: X + Y*320] := Color;
    End;

CONST
    Text = $B800;
    VGA = $A000; { Memory location of the VGA screen (...at least in dos) }

Begin
    ASM
    Mov Ax, $0013 { 00h = Set Graphics Mode, 13h = 320x200 256 Colors }
    Int $10 { Int 10h = Call Graphics Interrupt }