How do I link a DLL to a Win32 EXE for use?? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

How do I link a DLL to a Win32 EXE for use??

I'm trying to get my executeable file to load a few DLLs I have made and compiled so that I don't have to put a ton of functions into the actual executeable, but I have NO experience with DLLs. Can somebody help me figure out how to use both load-time linking (Borland says I have to link with the .LIB for this one?) and run-time linking (for stuff such as the main menu popping up when you press ESC). I would REALLY appreciate any help that anybody can give me. Thanks for your time.

-Seph

Comments

• Hello Speh..

For linking in compile time, you only need to add the lib file to your project, then #include the header file and off you go. For example, you have a void myfunc( int x ) in the DLL, your include file will look like this:

// mydll.h

#if !defined( INC_MYDLL )

#define INC_MYDLL

#if defined( __cplusplus )

extern "C" {

#endif // __cplusplus

// list the functions here

void WINAPI myfunc( int x );

}

#endif // __cplusplus

#endif // INC_MYDLL

If you have a problem with any of the above, post again!

If you want to use a DLL created by someone else, then dont forget to IMPLIB it beforehand. BCB and VC++ both use different format for thier import libraries.

To use the DLL above in run-time, you would do it like this:

typedef void (*WINAPI pMYFUNC)( int );