How do I link a DLL to a Win32 EXE for use?? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

How do I link a DLL to a Win32 EXE for use??

I'm trying to get my executeable file to load a few DLLs I have made and compiled so that I don't have to put a ton of functions into the actual executeable, but I have NO experience with DLLs. Can somebody help me figure out how to use both load-time linking (Borland says I have to link with the .LIB for this one?) and run-time linking (for stuff such as the main menu popping up when you press ESC). I would REALLY appreciate any help that anybody can give me. Thanks for your time.

-Seph

Comments

• Hello Speh..

For linking in compile time, you only need to add the lib file to your project, then #include the header file and off you go. For example, you have a void myfunc( int x ) in the DLL, your include file will look like this:

// mydll.h

#if !defined( INC_MYDLL )

#define INC_MYDLL

#if defined( __cplusplus )

extern "C" {

#endif // __cplusplus

// list the functions here

void WINAPI myfunc( int x );

}

#endif // __cplusplus

#endif // INC_MYDLL

If you have a problem with any of the above, post again!

If you want to use a DLL created by someone else, then dont forget to IMPLIB it beforehand. BCB and VC++ both use different format for thier import libraries.

To use the DLL above in run-time, you would do it like this:

typedef void (*WINAPI pMYFUNC)( int );

HINSTANCE hInst = LoadLibrary( "mydll.dll" );

pMYFUNC pMyFunc = (pMYFUNC) GetProcAddress( hInst, "myfunc" );

// and run it..

pMyFunc(10);

// You might want to do this before you are done

FreeLibrary( hInst );

I didnt understand what you mean by main menu and ESC...

Hope this helped a bit