Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Desperately need help - OpenGl

Hello!
i'm a very-very beginning OpenGl programmer.
And for making up first serious ( even somehow) programmes, i'd like to understand the basics.

I competely do NOT understand how function [b]GluPerspective[/b] works. I mean, i know its usage in theory but i still can't use it the way it works as i need to.

For instance, i have a cobe centered in (0,0,0), its heigth is 0.6. (so it crosses all the axes in points 0.3,-0.3).

How should I call [b]GluPerspective[/b] to see the edges of the cube ( some of them in fron of the viewer)???

And i do NOT understand the location of the viewer, i mean, the place i stand to see the scene ???

Can anybody explane me , please?

it's really urgent

HUGE thanks

Comments

• gautamgautam Posts: 642Member
    Hi,

Its very simple. There are two types of projecttion - Perspective Projection and othograpics projection.

Perspective Projection gives you a view like in the real world - further you go smaller it will look while Orthographics projection keeps the size in tact. However far in the world it goes - the size is the same.

Now to do perspective projection you need to use gluPerspective in Opengl.

Consider this diagram of the two types of viewing frustum. The cuboid/rectangular type is the Orthographics projection frustum while the other one is the perspective viewing frsutum.

http://www.microsoft.com/msj/archive/opengl8.gif