Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

How long does it take to learn?

noisyzennoisyzen Posts: 2Member
Hello all,

I am a newbie here, and a newbie with Perl. I've messed around with programming in BASIC (oh, 23 years ago - which makes me feel WAY too old), Ruby, PHP, and Python. I have not actually mastered any language.

In any case, I'm learning Perl now. I've been studying and learning very rigorously over the last two weeks. The first week I focused on figuring out how to write programs for different tasks. Last week I spent the majority of my time going through the Learning Perl book. I read and completed the exercises for about 3 - 4 chapters per day.

Let me preface my question by saying that I know everyone's learning capacity is different and that each person has different strengths and different weaknesses. So, my question is this:

How long does is usually take for people to learn Perl? Not 'master' it, so to speak, but to understand it enough to not feel like a clumsy two year old?

How long did it take you to feel mildly or moderately comfortable moving around in the syntax and writing programs?

I am quite impatient and tend to get very frustrated if I cannot learn something very quickly, and the more I hear that people didn't learn it overnight, the easier it is for me not to think I'm a total moron. :)

Thanks in advance,
NoisyZen

Comments

• JonathanJonathan Posts: 2,914Member
    Hi,