Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Linux login

Hello,

I am developing a C++ application (in QT) that should run only when logged in as root. If the current user is not the super user I should pop up a dialog box to let the user enter the super user password and from that point onwards the application should run as the root user (like the one that would appear when we try to open 'StartMenu->SystemTools->Hardware Browser' as a non-root user). I am pretty new to Linux and I could not get much information about this in the internet. Can anybody help me with this or point me to the right direction where I can get help in this?

Thanks in advance

Comments

• IDKIDK Member Posts: 1,784
    : Hello,
    :
    : I am developing a C++ application (in QT) that should run only when
    : logged in as root. If the current user is not the super user I
    : should pop up a dialog box to let the user enter the super user
    : password and from that point onwards the application should run as
    : the root user (like the one that would appear when we try to open
    : 'StartMenu->SystemTools->Hardware Browser' as a non-root user). I am
    : pretty new to Linux and I could not get much information about this
    : in the internet. Can anybody help me with this or point me to the
    : right direction where I can get help in this?
    :
    : Thanks in advance

Look at the source code of your 'hardware browser'.
  • nugentnugent Member Posts: 87
    check out the gnu libc manual for some info about users and groups:
    http://www.gnu.org/software/libc/manual/html_node/Users-and-Groups.html

firstly you need to check the username of the person who started the program. something like this should do:
    [code]
    struct passwd *me;

me = getpwuid(getuid());

if(strcmp(me->pw_name, "root") == 0)
    printf("I am Superuser
    ");
    else
    printf("I am %s
    ", me->pw_name);
    [/code]