How can I do a simple line break? - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

How can I do a simple line break?

galvlogalvlo Posts: 17Member
Sounds simple enough but for the life of me I can't find anything to show me how to do this no matter how much I search. I mentioned in another thread that I am a beginning Java programmer and I am picking apart simple open source games (in this case, Tetris) to see how they work.

There is a point in the game where I'd like to have it say:

Game
Over

rather than:

Game Over

How can I do this? I believe C++ has something to the effect of "/n" to accomplish this.

Comments

• zibadianzibadian Posts: 6,349Member
    : Sounds simple enough but for the life of me I can't find anything to show me how to do this no matter how much I search. I mentioned in another thread that I am a beginning Java programmer and I am picking apart simple open source games (in this case, Tetris) to see how they work.
    :
    : There is a point in the game where I'd like to have it say:
    :
    : Game
    : Over
    :
    : rather than:
    :
    : Game Over
    :
    : How can I do this? I believe C++ has something to the effect of "/n" to accomplish this.
    :
    You can do the same in Java, although the problem is that the various OSes have different line endings. You can get the line ending using this code:
    [code]
    lineSeparator = (String) java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(