need help playing audio files remotely with VB program

I am a HW engineer with almost no SW experience. My SW engineer was let go recently. I am working on updating some VB code to automate my HW testing. I would like the code (running on my host system) to play audio files remotely on the system under test. The audio files are just *.bat files. Any help would be appreciated as I have very little programming knowledge.

Comments

• [b][red]This message was edited by BitByBit_Thor at 2007-1-3 8:11:34[/red][/b][hr]
    : I am a HW engineer with almost no SW experience. My SW engineer was let go recently. I am working on updating some VB code to automate my HW testing. I would like the code (running on my host system) to play audio files remotely on the system under test. The audio files are just *.bat files. Any help would be appreciated as I have very little programming knowledge.
    :
    : Thanks :)
    :

What do you mean with 'remotely'?

If you're talking about running Batch files under Windows (on the same computer as the program is running) use:

[code]
    Shell "C:Some dirMy sound.bat"
    [/code]
    Assuming ofcourse the *.bat files are really batch files and do not need to be opened with some other program?

EDIT: I reread your post and as I understand it, you want the program running on the host system to command a client to open a batch file?
    There is no 'native' VB way to do so, as it depends on how the client and host communicate.
    If you know of a way to do it with script files (batch, *.vbs) then you can use the Shell command I gave to run these.

Best Regards,
    Richard
  • : [b][red]This message was edited by BitByBit_Thor at 2007-1-3 8:11:34[/red][/b][hr]