Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

SQLServerCE give error on ExecuteReader

I am an experienced programmer and know my way around quite well, however I am stumped by what should be quite easy. If anybody can help, please help me before I find myself crazed from frustration.

I am using visual studio 2003 developing an application for Pocket PC (only my 3rd).

I am trying to read data from an sqlce database. I get an error on the execute reader statement, and I can not find anything on it and can not see any problems, It is likely something stupid I am overlooking. The code is as follows...

Dim SQL As String
Dim R As New ListViewItem
Dim Conn As SqlServerCe.SqlCeConnection
Dim Cmd As SqlServerCe.SqlCeCommand
Dim Rdr As SqlServerCe.SqlCeDataReader

SQL = "instr(ucase(ProgName),'" + txtFind.Text.ToUpper + "') > 0"
SQL += " OR instr(ucase(ProgVer),'" + txtFind.Text.ToUpper + "') > 0"
SQL += " OR instr(ucase(ProgMfg),'" + txtFind.Text.ToUpper + "') > 0"
If lstPlat.SelectedIndex > 0 Then
SQL += " OR instr(ucase(ProgPlatform),'" + lstPlat.SelectedItem.ToString.ToUpper + "') > 0"
End If

Conn = New SqlServerCe.SqlCeConnection("Data Source = " + txtPath.Text + "Code6.sdf")
Conn.Open()

Cmd = New SqlServerCe.SqlCeCommand("Select ProgName,ProgVer,ProgMfg,ProgCode,ProgPlatform from Code6 where " + SQL, Conn)
Rdr = Cmd.ExecuteReader(CommandBehavior.CloseConnection) <---- Error occurs here
lstResult.Items.Clear()
While Rdr.Read()

End While
Conn.Close()

Comments

• BarkeeperBarkeeper Member Posts: 335
    :
    : Dim SQL As String
    : Dim R As New ListViewItem
    : Dim Conn As SqlServerCe.SqlCeConnection
    : Dim Cmd As SqlServerCe.SqlCeCommand
    : Dim Rdr As SqlServerCe.SqlCeDataReader
    :
    : SQL = "instr(ucase(ProgName),'" + txtFind.Text.ToUpper + "') > 0"
    : SQL += " OR instr(ucase(ProgVer),'" + txtFind.Text.ToUpper + "') > 0"