Date Fields and Null values - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

Date Fields and Null values

jbassmanpjbassmanp Posts: 160Member
I am not a new programmer but only been with Visual Basic about a year of so. Have learned a lot and produced some good commerical apps. But I just recently discovered a problem that I can not seem to solve. Never needed to do this before, but in this particular app I found that once a date is entered into a textbox field I can not delete that value and go back to a Null value. I can do this in the data grid mode but not with textboxes. The datebase is set Dates will accept null values and as default they are blank and if never touched remains null and once changed from one valid date to another all is fine. But I can not delete that field in the textbox mode. Get errors about converting string values to date or can messages regarding the null value. It is the same in VB2003 and VB2005, have anyone out there had this problem and better yet solved it...

Comments

• DrMartenDrMarten Posts: 748Member