Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Using GetForegroundWindow

Hi All,
I am a novice and would appreciate any help you guys can give me here. I want to write a code which will tell me with which window the user is currently interacting. The code I am using is

#include

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,
LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)
{
int test;
HWND hwnd;
MSG Msg;
TCHAR szBuf[80];
int nMaxCount;
DWORD d;
int nCmdShow;

while(1)
{
hwnd=GetForegroundWindow();

if(hwnd == NULL)
{
MessageBox(NULL, "No window is currently active!","Error!" MB_ICONEXCLAMATION | MB_OK);
return 0;
}

ShowWindow(hwnd, nCmdShow);
UpdateWindow(hwnd);

test=GetWindowText(hwnd,szBuf,80);

}

}

If I use GetForegroundWindow, I get the handle of the IDE i.e VC++. How do I write a code which will tell me which is the window the user is currently interacting with?. The issue is something like this...anytime a user is interacting with a window, I need to get a handle to that window and then selectively capture some graphics from that window. How do i proceed in this case? . So in this case would I need to run an exe from my main code which will give me the handle to the active window? Any better idea how do I do it? Waiting for replies from the experts out there!! Thanks!!

-confused newbie

Comments

• stephlstephl Member Posts: 422
    : Hi All,
    : I am a novice and would appreciate any help you guys can give me here. I want to write a code which will tell me with which window the user is currently interacting. The code I am using is
    :
    : #include
    :
    : int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance,
    : LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)
    : {
    : int test;
    : HWND hwnd;
    : MSG Msg;
    : TCHAR szBuf[80];
    : int nMaxCount;
    : DWORD d;
    : int nCmdShow;
    :
    : while(1)
    : hwnd=GetForegroundWindow();
    :
    : if(hwnd == NULL)