MySQL - Programmers Heaven

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

MySQL

Hi Experts and Developers,

I am just starting out on using MySQL and dbExpress in Delphi. Since I have been developing Database applications using BDE in Delphi I have always kept my database [tables] in a subdirectory of my application directory.

My question is: Is it possible to still use the same layout for my new projects using MySQL or does MySQL impose a restriction on the location of the database. I have noted there is a data subdirectory in MySQL home directory that houses all databases. I would still wish to keep my databases in my project directory outside MySQL!

Comments

• zibadianzibadian Posts: 6,349Member
    [b][red]This message was edited by zibadian at 2005-12-6 4:10:48[/red][/b][hr]
    : Hi Experts and Developers,
    :
    : I am just starting out on using MySQL and dbExpress in Delphi. Since I have been developing Database applications using BDE in Delphi I have always kept my database [tables] in a subdirectory of my application directory.
    :
    : My question is: Is it possible to still use the same layout for my new projects using MySQL or does MySQL impose a restriction on the location of the database. I have noted there is a data subdirectory in MySQL home directory that houses all databases. I would still wish to keep my databases in my project directory outside MySQL!
    :
    This website might help: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/windows-create-option-file.html

I found it using the search terms: "mysql "data directory"" in google.

• martbasemartbase Posts: 49Member
    Hi,

Thanks a lot for the prompt reply. Am reading it right now.
    Hi,