Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Welcome to the new platform of Programmer's Heaven! We apologize for the inconvenience caused, if you visited us from a broken link of the previous version. The main reason to move to a new platform is to provide more effective and collaborative experience to you all. Please feel free to experience the new platform and use its exciting features. Contact us for any issue that you need to get clarified. We are more than happy to help you.

MySQL

Hi Experts and Developers,

I am just starting out on using MySQL and dbExpress in Delphi. Since I have been developing Database applications using BDE in Delphi I have always kept my database [tables] in a subdirectory of my application directory.

My question is: Is it possible to still use the same layout for my new projects using MySQL or does MySQL impose a restriction on the location of the database. I have noted there is a data subdirectory in MySQL home directory that houses all databases. I would still wish to keep my databases in my project directory outside MySQL!

Comments

• zibadianzibadian Posts: 6,349Member
    [b][red]This message was edited by zibadian at 2005-12-6 4:10:48[/red][/b][hr]
    : Hi Experts and Developers,
    :
    : I am just starting out on using MySQL and dbExpress in Delphi. Since I have been developing Database applications using BDE in Delphi I have always kept my database [tables] in a subdirectory of my application directory.
    :
    : My question is: Is it possible to still use the same layout for my new projects using MySQL or does MySQL impose a restriction on the location of the database. I have noted there is a data subdirectory in MySQL home directory that houses all databases. I would still wish to keep my databases in my project directory outside MySQL!
    :
    This website might help: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/windows-create-option-file.html